Celebrating Ghana Month : A Journey Through Ghana’s 16 Regions

Spread the love

Ghana is a nation with sixteen administrative areas that are distinguished by their rich cultural diversity, historical significance, and gracious hospitality. Every area contributes to the nation’s rich fabric with its own special fusion of customs, scenery, and histories. Let’s travel across each of Ghana’s sixteen regions.

1. Greater Accra Region:

This region, which is home to the capital city of Accra, is a thriving centre for government, business, and culture. It is home to important landmarks including the W.E.B. Du Bois Centre and the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum.

2. Ashanti Region:

Known as the cultural heartbeat of Ghana, the Ashanti Region is rich in history and traditions. Kumasi, its capital, is famous for the Manhyia Palace and the Kejetia Market, one of the largest open-air markets in West Africa.

3. Central Region:

For those who are interested in Ghana’s colonial past, the Central Region is a gold mine with its coastal sceneries and historical sites. The UNESCO World Heritage Sites of the Cape Coast and Elmina castles serve as moving memories of the transatlantic slave trade.

4. Western Region:

The Western Region of Ghana is a major participant in the country’s mining sector and is well-known for its beautiful scenery and gold reserves. The Ankasa Conservation Area and the charming Nzulezo stilt village are also located in the area.

5. Volta Region:

This area has amazing beauty and is home to one of the biggest artificial lakes in the world, Volta Lake. The Tafi Atome Monkey Sanctuary and the Wli Waterfalls enhance the area’s natural beauty.

6. Eastern Region:

The Eastern Region is well-known for its varied topography, which combines mountains, woods, and historical monuments. In this area, two well-liked tourist destinations are the Akosombo Dam and the Aburi Botanical Gardens.

7. Brong-Ahafo Region (now Bono Region and Ahafo Region):

This region, which was recently split into the Bono and Ahafo Regions, is known for its agricultural pursuits. The area celebrates regional customs through festivals like the Techiman Kente Festival, which highlights the region’s strong cultural identity.

8. Northern Region:

The Northern Region, which has a distinctive blend of ethnic groups, is renowned for its warmth. The capital, Tamale, is the entry point to the Mole National Park, where nature lovers can witness elephants in their native environment.

9. Upper East Region:

This area is characterised by savannah landscapes and has a unique cultural identity. Among the sights that highlight the natural beauty and artistic talent of the area are the Paga Crocodile Pond and the Sirigu Art Village.

10. Upper West Region:

The Upper West Region is an invaluable cultural resource, renowned for its handicrafts and traditional mud-built structures. The capital, Wa, is a great place to learn about regional customs and take in the distinctive architecture.

11. Western North Region:

The Western North Region, which was recently separated from the Western Region, is a popular travel destination with scenic landmarks like Fort Apollonia and Bia National Park.

12. Oti Region:

One of the newest regions, Oti is characterized by its agricultural activities and the presence of the Akosombo Dam, a vital contributor to the nation’s energy supply.7l

13. Savannah Region:

Another recently created region, the Savannah Region boasts a mix of cultural diversity and natural beauty. It serves as a gateway to the Mole National Park.

14. North East Region:

Established in 2019, the North East Region is known for its serene landscapes and cultural heritage. The Nalerigu Baptist Medical Centre is a notable institution in the region.

15. Ahafo Region:

Created along with the Bono Region, Ahafo is recognized for its gold mining activities and cultural festivals. The region is home to the Kenyase No. 1 and Kenyase No. 2 villages on stilts.

16. Bono East Region

Part of Ghana’s vegetative belt, where favourable weather occurs year-round, is the Bono East region. Rich soils and forests make up the majority of the vegetation. The dry season runs from December to April. With an average yearly rainfall of 750 to 1050 mm (30 to 40 inches), the rainy season can alternately fall between about July and November.




Useful Links 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik