Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA) Board Has Been Dissolved

Spread the love

“Breaking: GRA Board dissolved. Stay informed with all you need to know about this crucial development in tax administration.”

President of the Republic Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has disbanded the board of the Ghana income Authority (GRA), which was headed by Dr. Anthony Oteng-Gyasi and has been leading the nation’s attempts to mobilise income.

As a result, Rev. Dr. Amishaddai Owusu-Amoah, 62, the Commissioner General of the GRA and a board member, has also been removed. Mis Julie Essiam, who was the Commissioner in charge of the GRA’s Support Services Division prior to her new appointment, will take over in his place.Miss Pearl Darko, the Social Security and National Insurance Trust’s (SSNIT) deputy director general overseeing operations, will be transferred from SNNIT to become the Commissioner in charge of the Support Services Division.

The Ghana Revenue Authority Act 2009, (Act 791) created the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA) in 2009 by uniting the three revenue agencies: the Revenue Agencies Governing Board (RAGB), the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), the Value Added Tax Service (VATS), and the Customs, Excise and Preventive Service (CEPS).

According to Presidency sources who are aware of the decision to reconstitute the GRA board, the new board of directors of the GRA will be revealed in due time, and it is anticipated that a senior New Patriotic Party (NPP) sitting member of Parliament will be named as its chairman.

It is anticipated that upon their statutory retirement, Commissioners Alhaji Seidu Iddrisu Iddisah of the Customs Division and Mr. Edward Appenteng Gyamerah of the Domestic Tax and Revenue Division will be replaced by fresh appointees.

The primary goals of the GRA are to guarantee maximum adherence to all applicable tax rules in order to facilitate commerce, maintain a steady source of money for the government, and maintain a safe and regulated movement of commodities across national borders.

In addition, GRA oversees a number of international accords that control the nation’s interactions with other tax authorities and organisations, including accords pertaining to double taxation, exchange of information, and customs and trade agreements.

The Commissioner General’s Secretariat and the Support Services Division (SSD) provide support to the two operating divisions of the Authority, which are the Domestic Tax Revenue Division (DTRD) and the Customs Division (CD).


Source: 3news


Useful Links 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik